

NEWS RELEASE

Date: March 28, 2007

Contact: Pam Whiting, (816) 374-5481

CHAMBER ANNOUNCES 2007 TOP 10 SMALL BUSINESSES

The Greater Kansas City Chamber of Commerce has named the following Kansas City area businesses as the "**Top 10 Small Businesses**" for 2007:

• Bennett Packaging of K.C. Inc.; Lee's Summit, MO

Kathy L. Bennett, CEO & President

• First Community Bank, Lee's Summit, MO

Jack T. Fields, President & CEO

Mary Carol Schriefer, Executive Vice President/Manager Residential Real Estate Division

• **Pro Circuit**, **Inc.**; Kansas City, MO

Monica Bury, CEO

Bryan Bury, COO

• Seagull Environmental Technologies, Inc.; Overland Park, KS

Jeannette P. Le Vu, CEO

Hieu Q. Vu, PE, President

• SoftVu, LLC; Leawood, KS

Tim Donnelly, President

Steve Garver, CEO

Tommy Hinton, Chief Technology Officer

Jamie Oakes, VP of Sales

• Straub Construction Company, Inc.; Shawnee, KS

Ernest J. Straub, III, President

Parker Young, Vice President & Operations Manager

Ernie Straub, Jr., Chairman Emeritus

• Sunlight Saunas; Lenexa, KS

Aaron Zack, Co-owner

Connie Zack, Co-owner

• Two West, Inc.; Kansas City, MO

Ethan Whitehill, CEO

Kris Flint, CFO

• ViraCor Laboratories; Lee's Summit, MO

Phillip Short, Founder

John Martin, CFO



Weyforth-Haas Marketing; Overland Park, KS
Rick Scaggs, Executive Vice President/CFO
Kelley Haas, Vice Chairman of the Board, COO
Barb Murphy, President

This year, a record 1300+ companies were nominated for The Chamber's annual Small Business Awards program. The 2007 Top 10 Small Businesses were chosen based on these criteria: strong growth or sustainability, outstanding employee relations, and a commitment to community service.

This is the 21st year for The Chamber's Small Business Celebration, which is designed to emphasize the importance of small business to the Kansas City area economy. It has become the largest celebration of its kind in the country, with a number of events scheduled as part of the Celebration. The newly-announced Top 10 Small Businesses will be busy over the next few months with:

- A special <u>Business After Hours</u> honoring the Top 10 Small Businesses on April 19th at the Hyatt Regency. Sponsored by: Sprint; Midwest Airlines; The Kansas City Star; KCPT-TV Channel 19; and Rise Vision. Hosted by: the Hyatt Regency and M&I Bank.
- The <u>Top 10 Small Business Celebration Breakfast</u> on May 8th at the Hyatt Regency. The Top 10 CEOs take the stage to share their stories, challenges, and successes with the audience. *Sponsored by: BKD; US Bank; The Kansas City Star; and News Radio 980 KMBZ.*
- The <u>Top 10 Small Business Celebration Luncheon</u> on May 24th at the Muehlebach Hotel, featuring a look at each of the 10 businesses and the announcement of the Outstanding Small Business of the Year, chosen from the Top 10 and presented with the Mr. K Award, named after entrepreneur Ewing Kauffman. *Sponsored by: Bank of America; the Kansas City Star; and News Radio 980 KMBZ*.

The Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation generously serves as overall sponsor for The Chamber's Small Business Celebration.